Isla Holbox

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I first heard about Isla Holbox because of its whale shark population.  I always thought it is a laid back island, with a small population.  Well, it is pretty laid back, but it is touristy as fuck. 
First I couldn’t find a place to stay, all the cheap posadas are booked, so I ended up camping in a hammock at a campsite.  I got the last hammock there, and good thing they have mosquito nets equipped because the mosquito situation is pretty crazy on that island. 
I was sitting at the wester edge of the island watching sunset and suddenly mosquito hour came and I felt mosquitoes thicken in the air and I had to andale my ass back to the town. 
My Mexico city repellent doesn’t work here, so I had to buy some new ones with alot of deet.  That worked, and my number one fear, mosquitoes and number two fear, putting on repellent became an hourly concern. 
That night I got to play some basketball. There is a court in the middle of the Zocalo. Some people were playing and we got games of 5 on 5 going. I haven’t touched a basketball for a while and I really needed it. I couldn’t imagine not playing for even a day couple years back, buy now its a luxury. Someone was guarding me real close so I shooked him to the ground. I couldn’t even break a first grader’s ankles back in the states, but here in Mexico, I’m the king. We lost because someone on my squad came out limping and no one took noticed. I kept asking why the fuck someone was open the whole time but no one knew why. I just thought it was because Mexicans can’t ball, but its actually we just short a person. Anyways, that was a worth the mosquito bites.

The beaches are surrounded by cabanas and palapas of expensive beach resorts.  However, going more east, the resorts disappear and its just the beach.  It is not much beach but some sort of swamp land.  One fantastic part of this area toward the eastern side of the island is during low tide, you can walk out into the ocean onto a sand bank.  Keep walking gets you to the most eastern side and you can see flamingos and birds along the way. 
I drank enough the last night I fell asleep easily, and woke up early to set my foot to the eastern side.  I set out with 2 girls from Norway and Finland.  There was a river between our destination, and it was to our understanding that the river gets low during low tide that we can cross it on foot.  It was low at all, but luckily there were two people kayaking and they helped us cross.  We found the sand bank later and the birds, but everything is not as they described.  It was still amazing, but with terrible smells and a sort of prehistoric shell animal laying on the beach most of the way. 
On the way back, we realized our mistake, we are supposed to go out into the sea to the sand bank and kept walking east instead of crossing the river.  That made alot of sense, but we did get to the east and it was goal accomplished. 
Spent an hour swimming and I hopped on a bus to Tulum, where a chain of misery began. 

Leave a Reply

