Mexico City

image

image

image

People asked me what is the best thing to do in Mexico City and I always answer with “drink, eat and be merry”.  They always stare at me in disbelieve and ask me the same question again.  I mean there are many beautiful buildings, sculptures, more than enough museums that I don’t go to, and parks in Mexico city, but the cheap beers and amazing Mexican food is what I enamored the most.  For 3 dollars you can get a modelo and 3 delicious tacos al pastor or some really good tortas, or whatever else you into on the street.  You can’t beat that.
My decision to visit Mexico started because I didn’t want to stay around at home waiting for my flight to Africa next month.  So why not visit the country so close and so cheap while practice my Spanish more.  I also wanted to spend Christmas and new years elsewhere just to see how it is.  Mexico city is a good place to start since it boasts one of the biggest Christmas tree and decorations in its old town. 
Without disappointment, the tree was gigantic, accompanied by colorful pinatas that light up, and decorations on the surrounding old buildings and light show on the cathedral wall.  There was a gigantic ice skating ring and other winter activities around the tree in Plaza Zocalo that attracts thousands everyday.  A nearby street that leads to palace of bellas artes also holds a festival that includes some live shows and bunch of people dressed as movie
characters.  At first I was quite taken by how lively everything is, but as time dragged on, being shoulder to shoulder with people while walking down the street became quite an annoyance. 
Normally I kind, and sort of push myself to go to places that I saw, sort of like a goal accomplishing mission.  I decided to change my approach and just go with the flow here and enjoy a real vacation for once.  More drinking beers on a balcony less hurrying all over the place trying to cross off stuff on an imaginary list. 
Before the tree, the food or the claustrophobic human traffic, it was hard for me or anyone to not noticed how polluted the air in this city is.  You can see visible blue fumes under the sun and you can’t see past a certain distance.  Cars are everywhere and the smug is especially noticeable at roundabouts in the city in the zona Rosa area where The Angel of Independence is located. 
On the other hand, the angel and many sculptures depicting aztec figures and others allow the Calle Reforma are pretty monumental and worth checking out.  While there is a certain lack of greens, the outer city of Mexico sort of makes up for it with Xichomillo, the floating garden on the “river”, mountains where the Teotihuacan pyramids are located. 
After drinking Mezcal like its shots of tequilas, I tagged along with some people I met to the castle of Chapeteplt in a ridiculously hung over state.  I really don’t know how to spell any of these Mayan and aztec names in Mexico so chances are it is spelled wrong but its how it sounds so just bear with me.  The castle was great you get to see how much smug Mexico city really has and get a bit sweat out going up hill to get rid of the alcohol.  There is a lake in the park, and zoo, and of course a museum.  Tons of vendors set up to sell stuff on the street and it was lively scene in one of few parks in Mexico. 
That night bunch of people went to lucha libre, although the attendance was few, the show was phenomenal.  The first 2 matches were quite lacking, but the acrobatics stepped up and everything was crazy.  One of my favorite is senor Christmas who is a little dude but he flies around others in circles and do lots of take down trips.  The show lasts from 730 to 11, quite good for 50 pesos. 
Spent the night just drinking some beer to close out the night and talking about how baby wipes make the best toilet papers with other people.  It wasn’t a bad night at all considering I was hungover as shit most of the day. 
Next day I went to Teotihuacan to see them sacrificial pyramids the Aztecs are so well known for.  They were pretty magnificent and I actually got a pretty good michelada over there.  There are three main pyramids at the site, del Sol, de la Luna, and Quezthuatl.  They are surrounded by other ruins like houses and others while the big Q is still being excavated.  The place is filled with vendors at no one’s surprise.  They also secretly sell food because I think food is not allowed for sale in the site.  People keeps blowing this jaguar sound whistle which I can make without, so I always produce the sound bake when the vendors try to get me to buy them. 
We took the metro to the del norte bus station to get to teotihuacan so they decided to take the bus back and it turned out to be a bad idea because of traffic and full of people. 
However, the bus stops at palace of bellas artes and there was live bossa nova band playing in a street corner that day and they were really good.  They are called Vaganush phonetically and their lead drummer looks like Pablo Escobar so I call them Banda del Patron.  It was a great show on the street and I went and got some tacos and drinks at the cantina in Plaza Garibaldi where mariachi bands play all the time. 
Christmas eve involved me going to all the market trying to find a replacement charger because the maid probably took mine.  There was an incident where I accidentally dropped 50 pesos and a well dressed mid aged man with receding hairline took it so quick it surprised me he has such agility.  Of course I saw him and got it back despite him trying to lie.  This is probably the same thing, maid though o was gone because damn thing was on the other wall. 
Anyways, I went to the technology market, the witch craft market, food market, got some chapurrados, and the other markets and got a UNAM jersey. 
Christmas eve o spent the night drinking and watching the lights in the Zocalo.  There are many Brazilians, Colombians and Canadians in Mexico city, some of my favorite places and I was pretty contend drinking with them on Christmas eve. 
On Christmas day there weren’t many cars in the street for I went for a run.  That was it, then I slept.  I had trouble sleeping for the past nights because Mexico city’s few mosquitoes decided to make a target and their constant bumming and biting kept me awake.  So I took a good Christmas nap till late.  The people filled the street as mass was over and soon vendors were everywhere again, from dude blowing smoke on people to bless them to live dancing. 
That night we went to zona Rosa to drink.  Some Australian tagged along and he was visibly very drunk.  He tried to give 500 to a Mexican as a 5000 and asked for drugs.  When the Mexican gave him back his money, he got back because he thought it should be 5k.  A fight started and I tried to stop it, and the fucking Mexican dude slapped me because he was just a little bitch.  Before I even got mad, the fight got separated and seriously this is the last time I try to help retarded people. 
Christmas was over and the next day I got Devin a dope jersey and hop on a long bus ride to Palenque for some nature and Mayan stuff.
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

