Seattle

The emerald city.  The birthplace of Starbucks and apparently homeless capital of USA.  The last part is not true, but there were a boat load of homeless people on the street.  Oh and of course the home of the 12th man which I personally would never wear a 12th man jersey. 
We landed in Seattle and there is a subway train taking us from Tacoma all the way to downtown Seattle.  Of course, everywhere except LAX.  Got to Belltown which is close to the Westlake/pike downtown area but with less homeless super easy, got our stuff off and went to Pike Place Market.  It was a Saturday and the market was popping.  I was extremely hungry so I left everyone and went to get some fish and chips, corns and yogurt while everyone else was waiting in a fat line for piroschky.  Little did I know that was the beginning of me just going off by myself because I don’t like standing around and walking in a circle while hungry and sleeping in.  It was really popping in the market, the original Starbucks has a line a street block long, there is a line pretty much everywhere.  The dish and chips came out fast and it was delicious.  I went around looking, at the fruit market, the flower market, and the famous fish market where people yell and toss fish around.  The Pike market place is huge, with underground sections and off way alleys.  I had no idea where everyone else is, but I found Brandon and we went to the gum wall, which is nasty if you ask me, but nonetheless quite artistic.  I wish I had a gum with me so I can contribute to the stickiness of it all. 
Still don’t know where the others went, we went to find this park Brandon said overlooks the city and mount Rainier.  It turned out to be Kerry Park, but I went to Olympic sculpture park instead because it was the closest to us.  Half way through Brandon decided to go back to meet up with the rest.  Knowing they were just gonna take a nap and not do shit, I head out to Olympics sculpture park myself.  The park is quite cool and overlooking park of the city and the fright trains.  There are many people sketching the city in the park that made me wish I actually had my drawing book with me. 
I kept walking and went to couple rocky beaches and myrtle beach park.  From there I asked and found out the park I’m searching for is called Kerry park.  I walked uphill for a pretty long time until I reached the said park.  The scene was beautiful and you get to see the classic postcard Seattle skyline from there.  However, it was quite cloudy and I wasn’t able to see Rainier.  I texted Brandon told him I found it and of course they are taking a nap and he’s going to go on Monday. 
From there I realized it was very close to the Seattle center where the space needle is located at, so I went there too.  I bought the ticket to the needle, but still had quite a bit of time before the elevator goes up.  I walked around and saw the ballerina school, the fountain, the Armory where it was apparently Turkey appreciation day that day.  There was a stage where they are playing Turkish music and people were selling rugs in a make shift market. 
It started raining so I sat in a Starbucks until it was time for me to go on the space needle.  The line was long and took over 30 minutes until I finally got on the elevator.  The elevator operator was crazy good to tell people everything in the short time for the elevator to reach the observation deck.  I got my obligatory beer on the deck and tried to take a pic but the security got me and told me I can’t drink outside.  I stayed there for an hour so I can take a night photo too, and I got both.  It was really cloudy and raining but its Seattle, so I fully expected it. 
Got off the needle and walked back to meet up with everyone else.  By then they got their power nap and we went and checked out bunch of dive bars.  There are quite many bars in Belltown and they all make pretty good old faahioned’s for cheap. 
Next day, was a Sunday, I finally got to watch football now since I couldn’t in south america.  It was awesome, just drinking and watching the games again, and watching my fantasy team coming back to the old Glory days. 
However, I didn’t get to watch all the morning games because I had to go to the Seahawks game.  When in Seattle, catch a game, just to see how loud the stadium really gets.  Apparently it wasn’t loud enough because the Seahawks trolled themselves into a loss after leading pretty much the whole game.  However, the seats were great, the stadium is superb that I wish Qualcomm looks like that, and it was a good experience.  However, I couldn’t find the skittle burger inspired by Marshawn.  I brought a football to throw around before the game but lost it because I hid it under a car when the game started. 
Next day I set out before everyone woke up again because it seemed like the way to go.  I started at the Fremont troll, then proceeded to gas works park, which is my favorite in Seattle, and the ventures in university of Washington.  It was a cool university and the autumn was on full display there.  There was a hiking trail and even a climbing area with real rocks. 
Then I walked across the bridge to the Washington arboretum, the tree reserve.  It was a cool park and really large too.  I walked around and lowkey couldn’t find the exit on the side so I ended up walking through the whole park even thou I wanted to exit half way and go to capitol hill.  I was quite late and I was a bit of tired of all the walking so I took a bus back to the shore side.  I went on the ferry to Bainbridge Island, 8 bucks for the round trip, not bad at all.  Galapagos made me hate “ferries” but this is a real ferry so everything was smooth and awesome.  You set on the sundeck and look back at the skyline of Seattle and the ocean and it was an awesome experience.  Reached the island in less than 30 minutes and I went about town.  There are many places I didn’t and wished I had gone, but I didn’t have enough time because I wanted to catch the Monday night game too.  I liked the vibe on the island, really chill and everything was really “homie”.  Definitely a must visit. 
Went out the last night, even thou not much.  Nasty things happened that I’m not going to describe here, but you can ask me personally. 
Next day, I went to piroschky and Starbucks in Pike, with a total waiting time of 5 minutes.  Wanted to go to the weed store but I already missed my bus so I didn’t have time.  I had to take the train instead and that gave me some time to go to Kerry park again.  It was a sunny day and I saw Mount Rainier at the view point, awesome!  Also wanted to go Nate Robinson’s chicken and waffles joint but I didn’t have time either.  Would have done it, but it was closed on Monday. 
So I spent the rest of the afternoon, eating, drinking, and then waiting for the train.  The train was delayed numerous times due to fright crossing and I ended up arriving in Vancouver at 1AM…  It was definitely not the plan I had in mind, but I have nothing but time, so not the worst thing. 

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a comment