Quito, again

After the tiring but fun time in Quilotoa (I have came to learn that the Quilotoa loop itself is way more awesome, just wish I have enough time), I went back to Quito.  Riding the bus around the last time I was there helped me get to La Marin central quickly from the Quitumbe station.  I don’t think any traveler knows the bus routes as good as I do, even thou I haven’t been in Quito long. 
Arriving in the historical section/old city of Quito on a Sunday means all the things are closed early and you have to walk a bunch around Plaza Grande where the presidential palace is located to find food.  After a bunch of walking, I ended up eating quarter of chicken at some place, reminds me of how many times I had that in Colombia. 
Having internet again was good and I was hit with a bunch of messages.  Spent a ton of time replying them and went to sleep early because you know, it was Sunday. 
Next day, I met up with a friend who just came to Ecuador for some Galapagos to go to the mitad del mundo/equator monument.  Talk to a bunch of people and I finally found the bus line to go there, but no one knows what time it arrives at the station.  So a bunch of waiting ensued until the bus came.  The monument park was pretty dope, and I finally got to do the handstand on the equator line.  I finally got to know who Madonaldo is too since so many streets and schools are names after him.  I didn’t go to the “true center of equator” some 300m away where people demonstrate fraudulent experiments to convince you the Coriolis effect has influence on objects on a small scale.  The true center of equator is in the middle of the ocean, I wasn’t going to see that, I just wanted to check out the monument. 

image

After the monument, we took the same bus a bit further and went to Palulahua, a collapsed volcanic crater that is still active.  It is said to be a geobotanical graden, but I hiked all the way down where farms and towns were built in the crater, and found most of the plants are dead.  I did see a pretty cool pineapple tree looking plant that is long and hangs over the path.

image

Took the same line of bus back but it didn’t go back to the station from before, but I did know where to transfer to another bus so everything was cool.  Went to Parque Ejido for some street food before we went back to La Marin central.  The chicken skewers were good, but they were over cooked, the Ecuadorian cooking has left many to be desired. 
Here is a story of why I don’t like hostels.  I got back to the hostel, and realized my bed is occupied by other dudes.  The dude who works, I mean volunteers there, came and told me blah blah I didn’t know you were staying here more than a night so we gave the room to someone else.  He said there is two beds left, but I came with two girls from Banos, so I told him they can have the two beds if they want to stay, but I’ll book one right now just in case he fucks up again.  I didn’t really care about staying anyways, because everyone speaks English in these hostels, I hate it.  Everyone says they want to learn Spanish, but no one ever does it.  Frustrates the shit out of me, especially when people like to pay more for breakfast in hostels that costs more when they can get it downstairs in the market for cheap.  Buying breakfast every morning and practice some Spanish is one of my favorite things to do, and its so much better than just sitting in your comfort zone eating in a hostel.  Anyways, one of the dudes from Banos arrived before the girls came back so I went to get some food with him.  On our way back, one of the girls told me that maricon pendejo from the reception told them that I said fuck them and took a bed for myself.  Never claimed to be a nice person, or altruistic, but I don’t like when some marica going around distorting words from my mouth.  I was pretty pissed, but I gave my bed to the girls because I don’t want to sleep on bed made with Bullshits.  So that night, I chilled with the janitor and cook in the living room, watching movie and talking about life and shit.  Not really, the janitor was just snoring like motherfucker. 
Next day, I moved places, because I can’t deal with bunch of pendejos, I was just going to get angry, and that was the end of the story. 
Anyways, one of the main attraction of Quito is the teleferico, which is also just a metro cable car, or gondola, or whatever.  If you read the Medellin post, you know what it is.  It takes you up to the volcano Pichincha, which happens to be the name of many establishments in Quito, including the biggest national Bank.  Actually, it takes you to the base of Pichincha, at 3900m, where you can overlook the city.  Most people do that, but the true gem is the volcano itself.  The volcano is quite beautiful, it has two peaks, Rucu and Guaga.  Guaga is bit hard to access, but Rucu just needs to hiked from the teleferico.  Rucu stands at 4695m with the first 70% of the hike being on a well maintained path.  Ecuadorian eagles fly all over the place and stands near you sometimes.  After the easy hill hikes, you end up walking up pretty steep sand dunes.  The trick to do that is to run, then rest, then run, it’s a lot easier than walk and sink.  It was windy and cold on the mountain, Ryan, who came in from Banos, left the climb early because he didn’t have a jacket despite how many times I told him to wear one. 
The last part of the climb is a lot of rock scrambling.  Pretty easy, but the rocks were so damn cold my hands turned purple.  Summiting it was pretty easy, seemed like I’m a long way from the gordito I used to be.  Like much as other mountains here, cloud rolled in early, and I made haste to get the fuck out before I couldn’t see my way down. 

image

image

After the climb, I was certain I can do Cayambe or Chimborazo, so I went to the Mariscal Foch area where all the bars, restaurants, and agencies are located.  Talked to some of them, turns out Chimborazo is very icy and none had summited for the past couple weeks so I turned to Cayambe, which is also on my list of glacier covered mountains.  I kind of fucked up, I thought Ecuador climbing is like Peru, you pay, then you go.  Ecuador requires two person per guide for glacier climbs and Cayambe somehow isn’t very popular.  I also only has 2 days the 9th and 10th where I can do this, so. It made things very difficult.  I talked to bunch of agencies and realized the other interested party they tell me about is just myself.  I left my email in case some magic happens but I forgot there is no internet around the Cotopaxi park area where I’m heading to.  I’m a problem solver so I gave my friend full control of my email.
That night, knowing it was probably my last night in Quito, I wanted to go out and see what’s good at night.  However, everyone I asked that said they were down ended up bitching out.  Don’t really like going out by myself so I just bought beers and drank, sad and disappointed, but whatever. 

Leave a Reply

